Arab quartet prepares 3rd Qatari-linked terrorist list

CAIRO – 30 July 2017: Egypt, Saudi Arabia, the UAE and Bahrain are preparing to announce the third terrorist watch list of individuals and entities related to Qatar by mid-August, according to media reports on Saturday.
The Arab quartet had issued two previous terrorist watch lists separately, since the outbreak of the Gulf dispute, totaling 89 individuals and organizations charged of supporting or participating in terror acts in the Middle East.
The reports said that the Arab quartet is expected to add 11 associations and 23 individuals to their terrorist list in the framework of monitoring the counter terrorism approach that the four Arab nations determined.
According to sources, who spoke on anonymity, the figures to be added to the third list include a number of Muslim Brotherhood leaders currently staying in Qatar and Turkey, who are accused of planning terrorist operations in Egypt against the police and army.
They include the Brotherhood leader Yahia Moussa, the main suspect in the assassination of the late public prosecutor Hisham Barakat; Mahmoud Ezzat, the acting Supreme Guide of MB since the arrest of Mohammed Badia in the case of Wadi Al-Natroun prison break.
The Arab quartet has applied a number of legal measures on the individuals and entities labeled as terrorist, including the freeze of their bank accounts, deposits and investments in the four Arab countries estimated at $2.3bn.
Qatar’s relations with several Arab states have been strained since May 24 over a leaked statement attributed to Qatari Emir Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad, criticizing Gulf foreign policy with Iran, describing it as “unwise”.
Qatar’s Emir Tamim bin Hamad’s recent remarks in which he attacked Egypt, Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) prompted the major Arab powers to adopt urgent and strict measures towards Doha.
The Qatari crisis escalated when Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, and the UAE, along with Yemen and Libya announced a coordinated diplomatic break with Qatar, including Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Bahrain. They also closed their airspace and seaports for Qatari transportation.